30d-Mother’s Day 2016

mothers20day202016aedited_zpszgoedanu

There are so many lovely words that I would like to include in this post about how important a loving Mother is.  There is a problem with that:  the posting would have no end!  I thought I’d share this photo of some of my Mom’s collectibles.  I always took for granted the way she arranged the most unlikely combinations of figurines and miniatures along with collectible plates and cups.  Having these little keepsakes now reminds me that there is a beauty in housecaring and a spiritual side to creating a lovely home.  The most important thing is to internalize these important lessons so that they live within our hearts and our memories.

Here’s a poem by an anonymous author that I hope will impart the message I wish I could convey.

Happy Mother’s Day, Sunday May 7th, 2016.

MOTHERS ARE SPECIAL
by Anonymous

There is no love like a mother’s love,
no stronger bond on earth
Like the precious bond that comes from God,
to a mother when she gives birth.
A mother’s love is forever strong,
never changing for all time
And when her children need her most,
a mother’s love will shine.
God bless these special mothers,
God bless them every one
For all the tears and heartache,
and for the special work they’ve done.
When her days on earth are over,
a mother’s love lives on
Through many generations,
with God’s blessings on each one.
Be thankful for our mothers,
for they love with a higher love
From the power God has given,
and the strength from up above.

 


 

“Mother’s Are Special”
public domain poem by
an anonymous author
From Inspirational Poems and Quotes.net
http://www.inspirational-quotes-and-poems.net/mothers-day-poems.html

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “30d-Mother’s Day 2016

    • I also think keepsakes are a part of the family history. They should be cataloged and the history of how it came into the family recorded. This will add to the value. Not cash and sell value but to impress upon the descendants how valuable this connection is to the past. To actually have great grandmother’s diary or great grandfather’s watch or a family Bible is precious beyond words and a fast buck.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I went to my Mothers house for afternoon tea on mothers day with a couple of old silver plate items i had bought at the op shop. I had intended just to ask what was best to use to clean them. She got out her cleaning kit and put on her gloves and sat at afternoon tea cleaning them for me. I sat and ate my cake (that she had made), and drank tea and we chatted. I felt so blessed and so spoilt and a bit guilty but she wanted to do it for me. Mothers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Andrea, Yes, mothers are special. That was a special time you will remember because it was authentic. Sometimes the quiet times are the most beautiful because they are intimate. Going out to dinner for Mother’s Day is nice but sometimes the noise and the crowd diminish the chance to get close like this.

      Like

Comments are closed.