Baltimore June 10-12, 2016

I was in Baltimore, Maryland for the first time from June 10th through 12th. The occasion was the wedding of Aunt Kathie’s son Michael Lingle to Katy Knipp.  The wedding was a beautiful weekend affair that spanned all three days.  Michael waited a long time for the right woman to be his lifelong partner.  We are all delighted that he married Katy.  She is his perfect complement.  The wedding ceremony took place in a ballroom at the Four Seasons Hotel overlooking the Inner Harbor.

The Inner Harbor is a beautiful example of old and new.  The sight of the boats moored on the water or sailing past offered many photo opportunities.  Tourists can walk to scenic Fells Point  very easily from Inner Harbor.  Along the way you’ll meet many friendly and helpful residents.  The atmosphere is urban and yet a touch of the past remains in the restored 18th and 19th century homes and cobblestoned streets of Fells Point.  On my way to the Hilton Garden Court Inn where I stayed the taxi driver told me Baltimore is called “Charm City”.  After enjoying the Inner Harbor and Fells Point I could understand why.

I hope you’ll enjoy these photos from my stay in Charm City.  I loved my stroll through Fells Point.  I put the camera away because I wanted to immerse myself in each moment I was there..  Many artists live in Fells Point yet the atmosphere is so different from the trendy, hipster vibe one gets in Brooklyn, New York these days.  I attribute this to the people themselves.  They are so open, so relaxed and so without pretense.  That is part of the appeal to Charm City.  The farmers market in Fells Point offers a tempting variety of sweets, baked goods, fresh vegetables, jewelry and other hand made items.  My favorite spot was the Café Latte’da where I bought a pound of coffee for my Cousin Jackie’s housewarming gift.  Café Latte’da donates a portion of their sales to help a local charity  that works with rehabilitation and adoption of dogs.  There’s a wonderful mix of people of all ages in this cozy little café.

Inner Harbor, Baltimore, Maryland

maryland206-11-16a_zpsd6wavhfa

maryland206-10-16d_zpsvgygb4cc

 

maryland206-10-16b_zpsr7va3pwp

 

maryland206-10-16a_zps4kpcnygx

maryland206-10-16e_zpsmzmmvuaa

Fells Point, Baltimore, Maryland

falls20point202_zps5o7mr8e2

 

falls20point201_zpsya772fdp

 

8 thoughts on “Baltimore June 10-12, 2016

  1. Great photos! I’ve been to Baltimore a couple of times. I think it’s an underrated city in some ways—great location, lots of history, and beautiful scenery, as you captured.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It truly was. The quality of food was superb. I had breakfast in the James Joyce Pub across the street from the hotel. The waitress was Irish and the tea was fabulous. The broccoli quiche wasn’t Irish but the scones and muffins were baked by the fairies! Just lovely. The city is known for it’s crab based dishes. At the wedding we had Maryland crab cakes. Again very delicious. A weekend to remember topped by a handsome groom and a pretty bride whose wedding gown was like Pippa Middleton’s bridesmaid gown.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.